tower ad May 2021 (left)
tower ad May 2021 (right)

APGA announces award winners

The APGA Virtual Convention and Exhibition came to a close on Friday with the announcement of this year’s APGA award winners.

Annual Environment Award

Australian Gas Infrastructure Group (AGIG) was awarded the Annual Environment Award for its Hydrogen Park South Australia (HyP SA) project, which will be Australia’s first integrated electricity-hydrogen public gas network project.

The development will deliver a 5 per cent renewable hydrogen blend to homes in Mitchell Park, SA and will have a capacity to replace average annual gas consumption of around 1,500 homes with renewable hydrogen.

Annual Diversity and Inclusion Award

MPC Kinetic was the winner of the inaugural award for a suite of policies and action plans that comprise its workplace inclusion and diversity programs.

The company’s plans cover attraction and recruitment, professional development and retention, inclusivity leadership and inclusivity culture.

A range of activities developed under the Reflect Reconciliation Action Plan aims to achieve the company’s vision to build respectful, lasting and equally beneficial relationships through dialogue internally and externally on this shared journey with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

Annual Safety Award

APA Group was awarded this recognition for its Process Safety Fundamentals program.

The program was carefully planned and rolled out over more than two years and achieved a step change in the awareness and engagement across the organisation.

The rollout overcame many challenges posed by a geographically distributed workforce.

Outstanding Contribution Award

Brian O’Sullivan was recognised for this award after more than 30 years in the industry.

He has played a part in shaping the careers of many in the industry via the companies he established: OSD, OSD Asset Services and PIPEd, and now also via LogiCamms.

In 2015, Brian was made a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to engineering in the oil and gas industry, and to support for people with muscular dystrophy.

Jeff Shepherd Construction Excellence Award

Spiecapag Land Liaison Officer Graham Meers won the 2020 Jeff Shepherd award, having brought his extensive knowledge of the pipeline industry to his work for more than three decades.

Having learned at the side of many legends of the pipeline construction industry, including Jeff Shepherd, Graham shows the same enthusiasm to pass on all he has learned to the next generation.

Young Achievement Award

GPA Engineering’s Nick Kastelein was rewarded for his significant contribution to the pipeline industry with the 2020 Young Achievement Award.

Nick has been Chair of the Future Fuels CRC’s Metal Pipeline Assets Working Group since January, has successfully contributed to a number of significant pipeline projects –including the recent Northern Gas Pipeline project – and is providing a key role on a number of hydrogen projects.

He facilitates GPA’s Mechanical Engineering Technical Subject Owners Working Group, has written the company’s stress analysis work procedure and templates and is the author of the GPA Guardian software, a database for conducting pipeline safety management studies.

For more information visit the APGA website.

If you have news you would like featured in The Australian Pipeliner contact Managing Editor David Convery at

Show more

Related articles

Back to top button